FEOTW: 17/08/2014

Standard

It has been a while since I published one of these posts. I didn’t get chance to experiment much with food after moving back in with the parents, after graduation, but then I had a whole week to myself house sitting for my sister and I was over the moon to have a kitchen to myself again. Here are a few recipes I have trialled out over the past few weeks and have enjoyed:

20140807_104123_AndroidAvocado Chocolate Brownies:

Recipe courtesy of Southern In Law I made these delicious wheat/ gluten free brownies, I lack confidence in my baking skills but I had a spare avocado and unlimited free time and thought why not? I was also having serious chocolate cravings. I added marshmallows into the recipe which made it oh so tasty and I omitted the sugar (which was fine for me since I was more interested in chocolateyness than sweetness but I know the result was definitely not sweet enough for other’s taste so do add the sugar). I don’t normally use recipes but where baking is concerned I think this is probably the only way.

 

 

Banana Oat Muffins:banana oat muffins 2

About to contradict myself here as I actually did some experimental baking and it somehow went right! I went simple and it worked: oats, mashed banana, baking soda, cinnamon, crushed nut mix, peanut butter, greek yoghurt and an egg, as always the ingredients were measured by eye. Like with the brownies I would add some sugar next time to sweeten them up a bit but they served well as a breakfast muffin and to satisfy my banana addiction.

 

 

20140806_202308_AndroidChocolate and Banana Ice Lolly:

Another sweet treat ‘healthified’ and one that took me back to my childhood of homemade ice lollies. To make this I mashed a banana, added a few drops of milk and some melted chocolate. I also mixed in some mint chocolate pieces and then put it in the freezer. To be honest I only tested this out because I had one too many ripe bananas but it actually turned out pretty tasty!

 

 

20140810_185757_Android

 

Minted Courgette:

Back to non-sweet food I have found yet another thing that is a match made in heaven with courgette: mint. Luckily my mother has some fresh mint growing in her garden and so I decided to try some to make a courgette side dish. I sauteed the slices of courgette in a frying pan with oil and a handful of chopped mint. Really easy to make but a great addition to a meal or to be used on a salad.

 

 

20140814_185013_Android20140814_183908_AndroidPeanut Stir Fry:

I’ve found a new homemade simple sauce for stir fries which works great with fried rice dishes as photographed here and also rice noodle dishes. Toasted Sesame Oil, Peanut Butter, Soy Sauce and Sweet Mirin (feel free to omit the soy sauce if you are totally wheat free). I warmed it up in the microwave for half a minute to let the peanut butter melt so I could fully mix it and then poured it with the stir fry. Also if you don’t have sesame oil in your kitchen go out and buy some, I only recently discovered it and now can’t believe I ever made stir fries/ fried rice without it! (also smells amazing)

For daily food inspiration find me on Instagram, I for one have a new found addiction to seeing foodie creations on there. Happy experimenting!

Leave a Reply

